2026 guide · prices checked 26 October 2026

How much does a phone answering service cost in the UK? Telephone answering service cost, per call, per minute and per month

A plain guide to how UK call answering is priced, with real published prices from named providers, AI and human. Every figure was read from the provider’s own website on 26 October 2026.

Written by TradeBoost AI Ltd, which makes Aria, one of the services listed. For a side-by-side of features, see UK AI receptionists compared.

Telephone answering service cost: what you can expect to pay

From the prices providers publish, AI receptionists we checked start at between £9.99 and £59 a month, although the cheapest plans include few or no AI minutes. Human answering services we checked start at £49 to £75 a month for limited hours or a small number of calls. Some well-known providers only give prices on request.

The monthly figure is only part of the story. What you actually pay depends on how many calls you get, how long they last, what happens when you go over your allowance, and whether VAT is added.

The five ways answering services charge

1. Per call

You pay for a set number of calls each month, then a fee for each extra call, however long it lasts. Pocket Receptionist (human) starts at £75 a month for 30 calls, with calls beyond your allowance billed at £2.99 each. Face For Business also offers a Message Only plan “for those who prefer a set price per call”, from £99 a month.

2. Per minute or per second

You pay for talk time. Face For Business (human) says it charges “by the second on calls”, with plans from £49 a month (Taster, core business hours) and £115 a month (Inclusive Minutes, adds evening and weekend support). It does not publish a per-second rate, so we cannot work out a monthly cost for a given number of calls.

3. Monthly plan with a minute allowance

Common for AI services. You get a set number of minutes, then pay per extra minute.

4. Monthly plan with a call allowance

TradeMore by Checkatrade counts AI calls rather than minutes. Pro is £50 a month (or £500 a year) with 75 AI calls. Team is £200 with 100 AI calls, Team Plus £320 with 250 and Team Max £520 with 750. TradeMore says it does not currently charge overage fees. All its prices exclude VAT.

5. Flat fee or add-on

Price on request

Moneypenny (human telephone answering), LineKeeper, Sophiie and Elyos AI did not publish prices on their websites when we checked. We have not guessed them.

UK answering service prices, 26 October 2026

ProviderTypePlan and price (as published)Allowance and extrasContract and trialVAT
Aria (us)AIStarter £59/mo; Pro £250/mo; Multi-Site £449/moStarter: 500 minutes, then 10p a minute. Texts 10p each, or from 7.3p in bundles. Multi-Site: £99/mo per extra location beyond 3.14 days free, card required. Cancel anytime. No setup fee.VAT not stated
Answered247AI£49/month250 minutes, then 10p per extra minute7-day free trial, no card. No contracts or setup fees.VAT not stated
JobCatchAIFrom £39.99/moNo per-minute charges7-day free trial. No contract.VAT not stated
Powered Now ReceptionistAI add-onSpeech £29/mo; Speech + Text £39/moNeeds a Powered Now plan: Business £28/mo (one user), Professional £32 per user, Premium £40 per userNo setup feeAdd-on: VAT not stated. Plans: exclude VAT.
TradeMore (Checkatrade)AI in job softwarePro £50/mo (£500/yr); Team £200; Team Plus £320; Team Max £520AI calls a month: 75 / 100 / 250 / 750. No overage fees currently charged. Free plan has no AI.Not stated on the pricing pageExcludes VAT
Team-ConnectAI phone systemStarter £9.99; Lite £19.99; Business Pro £79.99; Enterprise £199.99 (per month)AI minutes a month: none listed / 30 / 250 / 750. AI add-ons: 150 min £34.99, 500 min £99.99, 1,000 min £169.99.Not stated on the pricing pageVAT not stated
MoneypennyAI and humanAI: from £49 a month. Human: price on request.Quoted to your needsHuman schemes of 150 minutes and below: 3-month minimum. Larger: 6 or 12 months.VAT not stated
Face For BusinessHumanTaster from £49 p/m; Inclusive Minutes from £115 p/m; Message Only from £99 p/mCharged by the second on calls. Per-second rate not published.7-day free trial. No long-term contracts.VAT not stated
Pocket ReceptionistHumanStarter £75; Growth £145; Pro £230; Enterprise £635 (per month)Calls a month: 30 / 60 / 100 / 300. Extra calls £2.99 each. Covers 08:00–20:00.7-day free trial. Month-to-month.VAT not stated
LineKeeperAIPrice on request––n/a
SophiieAIPrice on request––n/a
Elyos AIAIPrice on request––n/a

“VAT not stated” means the page we checked did not say whether the price includes VAT. “From” prices are the lowest published figure; your plan may cost more.

What would 40 calls a month cost?

This is our own arithmetic from published list prices, not a quote from any provider. It assumes 40 answered calls a month, each lasting 3 minutes (120 minutes in total). Your real cost will depend on your calls and the provider’s full terms.

Provider and planOur workingMonthly totalThings to note
Team-Connect Lite + AI add-on£19.99 + £34.99 (150 AI minutes, because Lite only has 30)£54.98The page does not say whether the add-on is monthly or one-off. VAT not stated.
Team-Connect Business Pro£79.99, includes 250 AI minutes£79.99VAT not stated
JobCatchFrom £39.99, no per-minute chargesFrom £39.99“From” price. VAT not stated.
Answered247£49, 120 minutes is within the 250 included£49VAT not stated
TradeMore Pro£50, 40 calls is within the 75 AI calls included£50 + VAT (£60 with VAT at 20%)Includes job software as well
Powered Now + Receptionist (Speech)£28 Business plan + £29 add-on£57The £28 plan excludes VAT; VAT on the add-on not stated
Aria Starter£59, 120 minutes is within the 500 included£59VAT not stated. Texts listed as “10p each, or from 7.3p in bundles”.
Pocket Receptionist Starter (human)£75 for 30 calls + 10 extra calls × £2.99£104.90Covers 08:00–20:00. VAT not stated.
Face For Business (human)Cannot be worked out: the per-second rate is not publishedPlans from £49 p/m
Moneypenny (AI or human)Cannot be worked out: pricing is quoted to your needsAI from £49 a month

At a low call volume like this, several AI options come out close together. The bigger differences show up in what you get for the money: human or AI, the hours covered, live booking, links to job software, and how much a busy month costs. If you are not sure how many calls you actually miss, our free missed-call check can help you find out.

Hidden costs to check

Where Aria sits

Aria is our AI receptionist. From our Aria page: Starter is £59 a month and answers calls 24/7, including nights, weekends and bank holidays. It includes 500 call minutes a month, then 10p a minute. Pro is £250 a month and adds live booking into Google Calendar. Multi-Site is £449 a month for up to 3 locations. All plans include a real UK number, no setup fee and cancel anytime. You get 14 days free, and a card is required to start.

Aria is not the cheapest option in the table, and it is AI, not a person. It is new, so there are no customer reviews to show you yet. The fairest test is to have Aria ring you and hear it for yourself. Trade pages: plumbers, electricians, heating engineers. If you are not a trade — a salon, garage, clinic, shop or practice — the plan and the number work exactly the same way, and the page written for you is Aria, the AI receptionist for small businesses.

What people ask about answering service prices

These are the price questions we are asked most often. Every figure below comes from the table above, which we read from each provider’s own website on 26 October 2026.

How much is a call answering service per month?

Monthly plans we read on 26 October 2026 ran from £9.99 a month at the cheapest to £635 a month at the top of a human provider's range. Plans aimed at a small business taking a few dozen calls a month mostly sat between £39.99 and £75 a month. Aria Starter is £59 a month, and because TradeBoost AI Ltd is not VAT registered there is no VAT to add.

How much does an AI receptionist cost in the UK?

Across the AI services we read on 26 October 2026, published entry prices ran from £9.99 to £59 a month, but the cheapest plans include few or no AI minutes, so they are not directly comparable. LineKeeper, Sophiie and Elyos AI publish no price at all. Aria Starter is £59 a month and includes 500 call minutes, then 10p a minute.

What is the cheapest phone answering service in the UK?

The lowest published monthly figure we found was £9.99 for Team-Connect Starter, but its pricing page lists no AI minutes, so it will not answer calls on its own. Of the plans that include answering minutes, the lowest published was JobCatch at £39.99 a month. The cheapest headline price is often not the cheapest in use, once a base plan and going over your allowance are counted.

How much does a 24/7 answering service cost?

Round-the-clock cover is where AI and human pricing separate. Aria answers 24/7, including nights, weekends and bank holidays, on the £59 a month Starter plan. The human plans we read cover set hours instead — Pocket Receptionist's standard cover is 08:00 to 20:00 at £75 a month for 30 calls.

How much does a telephone answering service cost per call?

Published per-call rates are usually for calls beyond your allowance: Pocket Receptionist lists £2.99 for each extra call. On the AI plans we read the overage is normally per minute instead, at 10p a minute on both Aria and Answered247. Face For Business charges by the second but does not publish its rate.

Is there a free phone answering service?

We found no UK provider offering a permanently free service that answers your calls. What providers do offer is free trials: Aria gives 14 days free with a card required, and Answered247, JobCatch, Pocket Receptionist and Face For Business each list a 7-day free trial. TradeMore publishes a free plan, but its own comparison table shows that plan includes no AI features.

Common questions

How much does a phone answering service cost in the UK?

On providers' own websites, checked 26 October 2026, published entry prices ran from £9.99 a month (Team-Connect Starter, an AI phone system with no AI minutes listed) to £75 a month (Pocket Receptionist Starter, with human receptionists and 30 calls). Most of the AI receptionists we checked listed entry prices between £29 and £59 a month. Several providers, including Moneypenny for its human service, only give prices on request.

Is an AI receptionist cheaper than a human answering service?

Usually, going by published prices. Of the services we checked, AI entry plans started lower than human ones, and human services often charge per call or per second. A human receptionist can handle complex or sensitive calls better, so the cheaper option is not always the right one.

Do answering service prices include VAT?

Often the website does not say. TradeMore and Powered Now state that their plan prices exclude VAT. Most of the other providers we checked did not say either way. If you are not VAT registered, ask the provider for the price including VAT before you sign up.

What is the difference between per-call and per-minute pricing?

Per-call pricing charges the same for each call however long it lasts, so it suits longer calls. Per-minute (or per-second) pricing charges for talk time, so it suits short calls. Many AI services include a monthly allowance of minutes or calls and then charge for extra.

Are there contracts or setup fees?

It varies. Answered247, JobCatch, Pocket Receptionist, Face For Business and Aria all say no long-term contract or cancel anytime. Moneypenny's smaller human answering schemes have a three-month minimum, and larger ones six or twelve months. Always check the terms before you sign up.

Related pages

Sources, checked 26 October 2026

Every competitor price on this page was read from these pages on 26 October 2026. Prices change, so please check the live page before you buy.

  1. Aria (TradeBoost AI Ltd): https://pipeiq.co.uk/aria
  2. Answered247: https://answered247.co.uk/
  3. JobCatch: https://www.jobcatch.co.uk/
  4. Powered Now Receptionist: https://powerednow.com/receptionist/
  5. Powered Now plans: https://powerednow.com/pricing/
  6. TradeMore by Checkatrade: https://trademore.uk/pricing-and-usage-guide
  7. Team-Connect: https://team-connect.co.uk/pricing
  8. Moneypenny AI receptionist: https://www.moneypenny.com/uk/ai-receptionist/
  9. Moneypenny telephone answering: https://www.moneypenny.com/uk/telephone-answering-service/
  10. Face For Business: https://ffb.co.uk/answering-service-pricing/
  11. Pocket Receptionist: https://www.pocketreceptionist.co.uk/pricing
  12. LineKeeper: https://linekeeper.ai/
  13. Sophiie: https://www.sophiie.ai/
  14. Elyos AI: https://elyos.ai/

Hear Aria answer a call

Put your number in and Aria will ring you, so you can hear exactly what your customers would hear. It’s free.

Have Aria ring me →

Or see Aria plans from £59/mo

Before you price it up

Ring the thing and see what you are buying

Aria answers this number exactly the way she would answer yours. Ask her for a quote on a job, or try to catch her out — it takes about thirty seconds and nobody calls you back unless you ask.

Call Aria now — 07888 862 247
See the plans and what each one includes →

Standard UK rate · ICO registered ZC164080 · TradeBoost AI Ltd, company 17227850